2010 Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients

Posted on May 17th, 2010

2010 – Ten of North America’s finest Adventist teachers were selected by the Alumni Awards Foundation (AAF) in April for the remarkable impact they’ve had in their local schools. AAF, in conjunction with individual schools, presented the annual Excellence in Teaching Awards at Adventist schools around the country in May and June.

Countless teachers were nominated this spring for the 2010 Excellence in Teaching Awards. Nominations included recommendations by peer teachers, principals, superintendents, and union education directors. The awards, which included $1,000 gift to each recipient, were delivered publicly at recognition ceremonies dedicated to each teacher.

The 10 finalists were selected on a basis of classroom innovation, passion for teaching, professional growth, and commitment to Adventist education. “Great teachers are the heartbeat of great Adventist schools,” says Melanie Litchfield, director of AAF. “We look for teachers who are leaders at their schools, teachers who inspire both their peers and their students.”

AAF seeks to empower Adventist schools to become stronger. The AAF Board of Directors is comprised of individuals who have become leaders in their communities and professions. AAF board members say they draw inspiration from their own roots in Adventist schools. Their major objective is to strengthen and reward quality education.

“Monetary and national recognition is our way of showing our deep appreciation for extraordinary teachers,” says AAF board member Byron DeFoor. “These teachers are life-changers, and we want to give them the value they deserve.”

AAF is a nonprofit organization that develops and funds programs to stimulate excellence in Adventist schools across North America. Since its establishment in 1996, AAF has awarded grants totaling more than $1.4 million. Through its awards program, AAF has recognized 96 exceptional teachers with an Excellence in Teaching Award, and 14 exemplary academies with an Academy Award for Excellence. The foundation aims to awaken the Adventist community to the full potential of Adventist schools.

2010 Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients
  • Verna Canaday, Tri-City Junior Academy, Upper Columbia Conference
  • Janel Fields, V.Lindsay Seventh-day Adventist School, Central States Conference
  • Patricia Fulton, Bermuda Institute, Bermuda Conference
  • Robert Nobuhara, Monterey Bay Academy, Central California Conference
  • Carol Oster, Olney Adventist Preparatory School, Potomac Conference
  • Tammy Overstreet, Osceola Adventist Christian School, Florida Conference
  • Patricia Thompson, Alcy Seventh-day Adventist Junior Academy, South-Central Conference
  • Gelena Renee Turner, Dallas Christian Academy, Texas Conference
  • Sara Willard, Summit Christian Academy, Nevada-Utah Conference
  • Jerry Zappia, El Dorado Adventist School, Northern California Conference

Filed under News

Leave a Reply


Submit Comment   (Comments are Gravatar enabled.)

Stay Connected

Don't worry, we never send SPAM


Stay Connected
(*) Denotes a required field.